La Rioja

Located in the Spanish northeast, La Rioja is one of the smaller Spanish autonomous regions, consisting entirely of the province of La Rioja, formerly known as Logroño. It was conquered first by Romans and then by the Moors, before Christians from northern Spain drove the Moors out in the tenth century. A small and relatively weak kingdom, it has changed hands several times since the Roman era, eventually becoming part of the Kingdom of Castile. Even then, it was still vulnerable: it was conquered by Napoleonic French forces and remained a part of France until 1814.
The tiny landlocked region has relatively little to offer visitors in comparison to larger regions such as Andalucía, but there are things to see and do in La Rioja. As a key point on the pilgrimage to Santiago de Compostela, the capital city of Logroño has several interesting churches and two impressive bridges over the Ebro River. The mudéjar-style Church of San Bartolomé is worth a visit as well to check out its tower. La Rioja is one of Spain’s most important wine-producing regions. And it is possible to take a tour of the various wineries in the area.
The city of Nájera, a former royal seat, is an interesting little place and worth a visit. It is home to the Monastery of Santa María la Real, an impressive convent with beautiful cloisters and a noteworthy choir. Like Logroño, Nájera was an important stop on the Santiago de Compostela pilgrimage.