San Juan

San Juan, also known as “The Walled City” due to the colossal defensive structure which lines its coast, is Puerto Rico’s capital. The city is also a major tourist destination, not only for the island, but for the Caribbean as a whole. As cosmopolitan as any U.S. metropolis on the “mainland,” San Juan (named after Saint John the Baptist) is an alluring vacation destination for a variety of travelers. The city has many attractive resorts, restaurants, nightclubs, and cultural attractions in addition to its natural beauty.

San Juan was officially founded in the 1500s by Juan Ponce de León, and if not for Santo Domingo in the Dominican Republic, San Juan would be crowned the oldest city in the Americas. The current city of San Juan is divided into a number of districts, perhaps most notably, Old San Juan. Reminiscent of Spanish colonial rule, Old San Juan is where history buffs will feel most at home, among famed Castillo San Felipe del Morro and Castillo de San Cristóbal.